Robert Vial, the second son of Joseph Vial, an early settler in the Flagg Creek area, built the home the Society has restored in 1856. The house was originally located on Plainfield Road on the property what has been known as the Timber Trails Golf Course. The house was moved to its present location in 1989. The Vial House is architecturally unique and incorporates both the Greek Revival and Italianate Styles. Robert Vial was a prominent resident of the area and held many positions within the Flagg Creek community. He served as a deacon of the Lyonsville Congregational Church, Township Highway Overseer and Treasurer of Lyons Township. He held the position of treasurer for 42 years and for much of that time kept all records and monies in his home office.
The Vial House is located on the property of the Pleasant Dale Park District at 7425 South Wolf Road in Burr Ridge, Illinois 60527. The FCHS has the house open the first Sunday of every month from April to October - 2:00 to 4:00 p.m. and most Thursdays from 10:00 a.m. until 12:30 p.m. all year. Call Alice at 708-839-9616 to confirm hours. Come by and visit!
Both the Museum and the Robert Vial House can be opened upon request. Groups are welcome. Please contact Alice Latham at 708-839-9616 for information.